We’re A Few Marbles Short

DSC_0583Last year my Husband & I had the pleasure of attending Catalyst conference. Real quick, Catalyst is this amazing gathering for church leaders (Sidenote: My opinion we’re all leaders) where well known leaders and visionaries speak life into building God’s kingdom here on Earth . In other words it’s not something you want to miss. Catalyst is like that party in high school you didn’t want to miss because people would talk about it for months…Yeah!..Okay, maybe that’s a bad comparison, but you get the point.

One of the speakers at Catalyst, Reggie Joiner spoke about “losing your marbles.” 936 marbles to be exact. 936 represents the number of weeks a parent has with their child from birth until they turn 18 and head off to college, or where God leads them. The idea is one would start with a full jar of marbles and each passing week a marble would be removed from the jar. A week has passed and it burns a question in your heart of what kind of history am I making with my child? How am I spending my time?…

TIME teaching, showing them to build their own relationship with Christ.

TIME doing activities they enjoy.

TIME enjoying activities that we as parents enjoy.

TIME hanging out.

You don’t have to be a parent to “lose your marbles.” In fact, if you are a leader, or invested in someone’s life you too can “lose your marbles.” I also believe this can be done with a dream God has put on your heart. Each passing week you are able to track time spent towards your dream or goal.

When my Husband and I heard about “losing your marbles” we thought it was a great idea and planned to implement with our family. We’re now able to put it to use!

DSC_0582

 

Today’s post is written in honor of our sweet, baby boy reaching one month old. The past four weeks have been nothing short of amazing. Each marble reminds me to cherish this little one God has blessed us with.

DSC_0564

I asked the Lord to give me this boy, and he has granted my request. Now I am giving him to the Lord, and he will belong to the Lord his whole life.” And they worshiped the Lord there.” (1 Samuel 1:27-28)

 

Losing my marbles & Playing for keeps,

V. Anderson

Leave a Reply

